CONSEQUENCES FOR VARIOUS OFFENSES
If you have been charged with drunk driving in the state of Florida, the penalties you face will be based on your blood alcohol concentration (BAC), whether it is a first or subsequent offense, whether a minor was in the vehicle at the time of the incident, and whether you caused an accident involving property damage, bodily injury, or the death of another. As in most states, DUI penalties in Florida have been made very harsh in an effort to safeguard other drivers and pedestrians. In any type of DUI charge in Central Florida your first action should be to get the professional advice of an Orlando DUI lawyer. At Mascia Law Firm our attorneys are proficient in defending all types of DUI cases.
FIRST OFFENSE PENALTIES
In a first DUI offense, if your BAC was below .15, the penalties you face include jail time ranging from 8 hours to six months, not less that $500 or more than $1000 in fines, mandatory 50 hours of community service, a minimum of 180 days or maximum of one year license suspension, possible vehicle impoundment and required drug or alcohol education. If your BAC was .15 or above, your jail sentence will range from 8 hours to nine months, fines starting at $1000 and going up to $2000, a minimum of 180 days or maximum of one year license suspension, possible vehicle impoundment and required drug or alcohol education
SECOND OFFENSE PENALTIES
In a second DUI conviction, penalties include jail time ranging from 24 hours to nine months, fines ranging from $1000 to $2000, license suspension from 6 months to one year, and required drug and alcohol education program. If your BAC registered .15 or above, your jail time starts at 10 days and could go up to a year, fines start at $2000 and go up to $4000, and your license suspension may be up to five years.
THIRD OFFENSE PENALTIES
A third DUI conviction is punishable by jail time ranging from 24 hours to one year, fines of $2000 to $5000, a six month to one year license suspension and required drug or alcohol education. For a BAC of .15 or higher, the jail sentence starts at 30 days and could last up to one year, fines range from $4000 to $5000 and license suspension could last up to ten year.
DON'T DELAY IN GETTING HELP FROM AN ORLANDO DUI ATTORNEY!
In the face of such serious penalties, it is to your advantage to have an attorney who is fully versed in DUI defense at your side as early as possible. Our firm has the know how, experience, and resources to make a difference in the outcome of your case. Contact our firm for aggressive legal representation in any DUI case!